Logo vom Arbeitskreis Wasserpflanzen e.V.





Madagascar Lace Plant - Aponogeton madagascariensis

Gitterpflanze

Madagascar Lace Plant
Bild: Maike Wilstermann-Hildebrand


Synonyms: Aponogeton fenestralis (Pers.) Hook.f., Aponogeton fenestralis var. major Baum, Aponogeton guillotii Hochr., Aponogeton henkelianus Baum, Aponogeton madagascariensis var. henkelianus (Baum) H.Bruggen, Aponogeton madagascariensis var. major (Baum) H.Bruggen, Hydrogeton fenestralis Pers., Ouvirandra bernieriana Hook., Ouvirandra fenestralis (Pers.) Poir.

Plant Family: Aponogetonaceae

Origin: Madagascar and Mauritius

Description: The plants are 30-70 cm high. The leaves are noticeably broken like a lattice. The leaves are oval to lanceolate , up to 50 cm long and 15 cm wide. The petioles are between 10 and 20 cm long. The tuber is cylindrical. It is 1 to 10 cm long and 2 cm in diameter. She often looks like something has been cut off at the bottom. The flower buds are surrounded by a spathe during their development. The self-fertile flowers are arranged in 2 to 4 (rarely to 6) 5 to 7 cm long ears per inflorescence. The petals are white to red.

Temperature: 18-22 ° C (short term to 24 ° C) or 24 to 26 ° C depending on the origin

Light requirements: medium to much, depending on the temperature

Water hardness: 2-12 ° KH

Soil: loose, nutritious

Propagation: seeds

Use: Solitary plant, eye-catcher

Special: Aponogeton magagascariensis is one of the oldest aquarium plants ever. The species was introduced to Europe in 1855.

Nomenclature: The genus name Aponogeton was awarded in 1782 by Carl Linnaeus the Younger in Supplementum Plantarum, 32, p. As a type species he chose Aponogeton monostachyon L. f., A name that today is a synonym of Aponogeton natans . The genus name is a transformation of Potamogeton (pondweed).

Assessment: The culture of this plant is in principle not difficult and seed multiplication can succeed. The prerequisite is that the plant can find suitable conditions and can grow undisturbed. There are different origins from cold and warm waters, which are equally suitable for aquariums.

More information in the Aqua Planta:
H. W. E. van Bruggen (1988): Das Pflanzenporträt: Aponogeton madagascariensis.- Aqua Planta 2-1988, 61
A. J. Albers (1988): Die Kultur und Vermehrung der Gitterpflanze Aponogeton madagascariensis (Mirbel) H. Bruggen.- Aqua Planta 2-1988, 49
H. W. E. van Bruggen (1998): Drei Varietäten der Gitterpflanze, Aponogeton madagascariensis (Mirbel) H. W. E. van Bruggen.- Aqua Planta 1 - 1998, 3

Text from: Maike Wilstermann-Hildebrand

Logo vom Arbeitskreis Wasserpflanzen e.V.





Gitterpflanze - Aponogeton madagascariensis

Gitterpflanze

Gitterpflanze
Bild: Maike Wilstermann-Hildebrand


Synonyme: Aponogeton fenestralis (Pers.) Hook.f., Aponogeton fenestralis var. major Baum, Aponogeton guillotii Hochr., Aponogeton henkelianus Baum, Aponogeton madagascariensis var. henkelianus (Baum) H.Bruggen, Aponogeton madagascariensis var. major (Baum) H.Bruggen, Hydrogeton fenestralis Pers., Ouvirandra bernieriana Hook., Ouvirandra fenestralis (Pers.) Poir.

Pflanzenfamilie: Aponogetonaceae = Wasserährengewächse

Herkunft: Madagaskar und Mauritius

Beschreibung: Die Pflanzen sind 30-70 cm hoch. Die Blätter sind auffällig gitterartig durchbrochen. Die Spreiten sind oval bis lanzettlich, bis 50 cm lang und 15 cm breit. Die Blattstiele sind zwischen 10 und 20 cm lang. Die Knolle ist zylindrisch. Sie ist 1 bis 10 cm lang und 2 cm im Durchmesser. Sie sieht oft aus, als wäre am unteren Ende etwas abgeschnitten worden. Die Blütenknospen sind währen ihrer Entwicklung von einer Spatha umgeben. Die selbstfruchtbaren Blüten sind in 2 bis 4 (selten bis 6) 5 - 7 cm langen Ähren pro Blütenstand angeordnet. Die Blütenblätter sind weiß bis rot.

Temperatur: 18-22 °C (kurzfristig bis 24 °C) oder 24 bis 26 °C je nach Herkunft

Lichtbedarf: mittel bis viel, abhängig von der Temperatur

Wasserhärte: 2-12 °KH

Bodengrund: locker, nährstoffreich

Vermehrung: Samen

Verwendung: Solitärpflanze, Blickfang

Besonderes: Aponogeton magagascariensis ist eine der ältesten Aquarienpflanzen überhaupt. Die Art wurde bereits 1855 nach Europa eingeführt.

Nomenklatur:Der Gattungsnamen Aponogeton wurde 1782 durch Carl von Linné dem Jüngeren in Supplementum Plantarum, 32, S. 214 vergeben. Als Typusart wählte er Aponogeton monostachyon L. f., ein Name, der heute ein Synonym von Aponogeton natans ist. Der Gattungsname soll ein Umformung aus Potamogeton (Laichkraut) sein.

Beurteilung: Die Kultur dieser Pflanze ist im Prinzip nicht schwer und auch eine Vermehrung durch Samen kann gelingen. Voraussetzung ist aber, dass die Pflanze geeignete Bedingungen vorfindet und ungestört wachsen kann. Es gibt verschiedene Herkünfte aus kalten und warmen Gewässern, die sich unterschiedlich gut für Aquarien eignen.

Weitere Informationen in der Aqua Planta:
H. W. E. van Bruggen (1988): Das Pflanzenporträt: Aponogeton madagascariensis.- Aqua Planta 2-1988, 61
A. J. Albers (1988): Die Kultur und Vermehrung der Gitterpflanze Aponogeton madagascariensis (Mirbel) H. Bruggen.- Aqua Planta 2-1988, 49
H. W. E. van Bruggen (1998): Drei Varietäten der Gitterpflanze, Aponogeton madagascariensis (Mirbel) H. W. E. van Bruggen.- Aqua Planta 1 - 1998, 3

Text von: Maike Wilstermann-Hildebrand